New England is known for its quaint covered bridges, but did you know that none of our six states have the highest number of remaining bridges? Pennsylvania currently holds that title with 219.
Here in Massachusetts, just seven of the roughly 270 covered bridges that once dotted the state remain. Each has been renovated or entirely rebuilt to restore its former glory.
While our remaining bridges are spread across the state, they can all be viewed in under a day with careful planning.
Bissell Bridge, Charlemont
This 55-foot bridge was originally constructed in 1880 and spans the valley of Mill Brook in Charlemont, MA. The bridge was redone in 2009 and a viewing area was added to give visitors a vantage point of a nearby waterfall.
Burkevilles Bridge, Conway
Also built in 1880, this lovely structure in the village of Conway sits beside a historic church and is considered one of the state's most cherished covered bridges. It received a facelift in 2005, but workers were careful to preserve its historic charm.
Dummerston Bridge, Sturbridge
The Dummerston Bridge is unique in that it was originally built across the West River in Vermont, and relocated to Old Sturbridge Village in 1955.
Pepperell Bridge, Pepperell
This poor bridge spanning the Nashua River has been rebuilt twice since it was originally constructed in 1848. The original was built well and survived for more than 110 years before being replaced in the 1960s. The latest structure was presented in a town ceremony in September 2010.
Ware-Gilbertville Bridge, Hardwick
This bridge is one of only three Massachusetts covered bridges still open to traffic. It was built across the Ware River in 1886 and renovated for safety in 2010.
Upper Bridge, Sheffield
The original Upper Bridge was destroyed by arson in 1994 after spanning the Housatonic River for more than 140 years. Luckily it was rebuilt so visitors can continue to enjoy magnificent views of the southern Berkshires.
Arthur A. Smith Bridge, Northfield
Like the Dummerston Bridge, the Arthur A. Smith bridge was originally built at a different location. It was moved to Lyonsville Village where 10 of the town's other covered bridges were destroyed by storms. It sat in disrepair in a farm field in the 1990s before being restored in 2005.
Featured Image by John Phelan via Wikimedia Commons